Australian Club Champions 2009

In 1947 the Queensland Rugby Union (QRU) started an Old Boys Competition for past students of G.P.S. schools.  One of the teams was the Brisbane State High School Old Boys.  This team became known as Colts in 1948 and finally in 1949, at the suggestion of the QRU, the club assumed the name Eastern Districts.  Today the club is known as Easts Rugby Union Inc.

Easts Rugby Union Inc is primarily a sport and recreation facility for young people in the community.  It is a not-for-profit incorporated organisation that provides sporting fields, equipment, expertise and administration for young people school aged onwards.  Additionally it is a social club within the community for past and present members to continue their involvement in supporting young people.  It provides support to a variety of other community groups such as school sports training, interschool competitions, cricket and touch clubs.  The clubhouse is also available for hire at reasonable rates to other community interest groups other than sporting.

The geographical coverage of the club is extensive but centres on suburbs surrounding East Brisbane, Coorparoo and Norman Park.  Having traditional ties with Brisbane SHS, the club extends from West End to Capalaba in the East and Mt Gravatt in the south.  The river at Bulimba/Hawthorn acts as a boundary to the North.  There is a junior satellite club at Bulimba that was assisted in becoming established by ERU known as Easts Riverside.



1956  4th Grade Premiership 2000  5th Grade Premiership
1959  3rd Grade Premiership 2001  A.Scotney  XXXX Medal
1972  2nd Grade Premiership 2001  Colts 1 Premiership
1976  4th Grade Premiership 2002  Women’s Premiership
1976  B.Cooke  Rothmans Medal 2002  Easts Longhorns 5th Grade Premiership
1982  2nd Grade Premiership 2003  Women’s Premiership
1982  B.Scott  Rothmans Medal 2003  Div 1 3rd Grade Premiership
1984  Welsby Cup 2003  Doughty Shield Club Champions
1984  Horsley Cup 2004  Doughty Shield Club Champions
1984  S.Hourigan  Rothmans Medal 2005  Doughty Shield Club Champions
1985  Colts 2 Premiership 2005  Div 1 2nd Grade Premiership
1986  Colts 1 Premiership 2005  Women’s Premiership
1987  4th Grade Premiership 2007  Matt Brandon  Tooheys New Premier Player of the Year
1987  Doughty Shield 2008  Premier Grade Premiership – Hospitals Cup
1987  G.Hassall  Rothmans Medal 2008  Women’s Premiership
1988  3rd Grade Premiership 2008  Pat Richards QRU Coach of the Year
1988  4th Grade Premiership 2009  Australian Club Champions – Premier Grade
1989  3rd Grade Premiership 2009  Colts 1 Premiership
1989  D.Wilson  Rothmans Medal 2009  Colts 2 Premiership
1990  2nd Grade Premiership 2009  Women’s Premiership
1991  4th Grade Premiership 2009  Doughty Shield Club Championship
1991  D.Wilson  Rothmans Medal 2010  Women’s Premiership
1993  G.Holt  Rothmans Medal
1994  Under 21 Premiership
1996  Colts 3 Premiership
1997  1st Grade Premiership
1998  2nd Grade Premiership
1999  1st Grade Premiership
1999  Welsby Cup
1999  Horsley Cup
1999  R.Graham  XXXX Medal
2000  3rd Grade Premiership

The Clubhouse that currently stands on the site at Bottomley park was opened in 1979.  For more information click on the Commemorative booklet 1979 booklet. (pdf 4.6MB)

In 1997, Easts celebrated 50 years as well as the first Premiership win for 1st grade(Premier Grade).  The Jubilee Tiger Tales extended edition documents much of Easts history up until this point.

Latest News