The “Team of the Grand Finals” is finally in with club supporters voting for standout performers and club favourites in a fascinating XV. 

Over the course of the season, the club has given supporters the chance to vote for their favourite high achievers in each position via social media. 

Only those players with a starting role in Easts’ five men’s premiership sides were eligible which means decorated Wallabies like David Wilson and Peter McLean were not listed. 

Some players like flanker Michael Gunn (2013 and 2020), Peter Murdoch (1997 and 1999) and Richard Graham (1997 and 1999) had an extra shot at votes with roles in multiple premierships. 

In the end, nearly 800 votes were tallied. It’s been a chance for diehard Tigers’ fans to vote for players who resonated with them and left them with lasting memories from the biggest day of any club season. 

Considering iPhones and Facebook weren’t even invented when the Tigers won two premierships in the 1990s, some older voters may have been waiting for paper voting slips that never appeared in their letter boxes. 

There was a heavy weighting to the modern era with the 2020 premiership high still so fresh. The side earned the most spots in the team…seven. 

Winger Shane Kennedy, halfback Eli Pilz, No.8 Ben Mowen, Gunn, flanker Tom Milosevic, lock Seru Uru and lock Mitch Schneider all finished on top of the voting for their spots. 

By contrast, the trailblazers of the 1990s earned just four spots…centre JB Sullivan (1997), flyhalf Andrew Scotney (1997 and 1999), long-serving hooker Tim Stoddart (1999) and prop Rick Tyrrell (1997 and 1999). 

It was always going to be hard to split flyhalves Scotney and Matt Brandon (2008 and 2013) for their deeds in two title wins apiece. 

In the end, the fan vote couldn’t split them either with each tallying an identical number of votes. They will share the No.10 jersey in this Dream Team. 

Otherwise, the tightest battle for a spot came at fullback where Andrew Walker (2008) shaded Graham by a single vote. 

Centres Sullivan and Toby White (2013) commanded the biggest share of votes in any position with 54 per cent of the votes apiece. 

There was only one more dominant vote. That was for coach where the esteem for Pat Richards (2008 and 2013) from his long tenure was obvious. He commanded 80 per cent of the vote. 

Here goes…the “Team of the Grand Finals” you voted for. 

Fullback: Andrew Walker (2008) 

Winger: Shane Kennedy (2020) 

Outside Centre: Toby White (2013) 

Inside Centre: JB Sullivan (1997) 

Winger: Johnny Wilder (2013) 

Flyhalf: Andrew Scotney (1997 and 1999) and Matt Brandon (2008 and 2013) 

Halfback: Eli Pilz (2020) 

No.8: Ben Mowen (2020) 

Openside Flanker: Michael Gunn (2013 and 2020) 

Blindside Flanker: Tom Milosevic (2020) 

Lock: Seru Uru (2020) 

Lock: Mitch Schneider (2020) 

Tighthead Prop: Kirwan Sanday (2013) 

Hooker: Tim Stoddart (1999) 

Loosehead Prop: Rick Tyrrell (1997 and 1999) 

Coach: Pat Richards (2008 and 2013) 


Easts Tigers Off-Season Training

Easts Tiger Off-Season Training All current & new players welcome to come to our off-season training sessions! SENIOR GRADE MEN: DAYS: Tuesday & Thursday nights TIME: 6pm - 7:30pm DATES: 13/12/22 - 22/12/22 COLTS: DAYS: Monday & Wednesday nights TIME: 6pm - 7:30pm DATES: 28/11/22 - 21/12/22 PREMIER WOMEN: DAYS: Monday & Wednesday nights TIME:...

A Premiership Weekend to end 2022 on a high

Greg Riley’s first premiership for Easts was 20 years in the making and it tasted just as satisfying as he thought it would. Easts' grand final fans came in all ages like Kohen, 17 months Of all the victory stories and celebrations from grand final weekend, no one had toiled longer to deserve it than...

Grand Final Weekend: Parry returns as Easts hunt 5 trophies

Wallaroos skipper Shannon Parry has been given the all-clear to play for Easts in the quest for a third straight women’s premiership at Suncorp Stadium. Backrower Parry has got lucky with Sunday’s decider falling between two training camps before the Wallaroos’ departure for the Rugby World Cup for women in New Zealand. It’s a huge...

Grand Final Week

It's Grand Finals week in Tigerland We are so pleased to see so many Tiger teams in the finals this year. To celebrate, we have a number of events down at the clubhouse throughout this coming week and we invite you to come down and be a part of the build-up to the big day....

Family affair puts winning vibe into Easts

The family vibe around the Soloai family’s enjoyment of Easts even stretches to eight-year-old Brooklyn joining mum for pre-game warm-ups. When you talk of Easts as a family club there is no better example than this nonstop household of footy boots, jerseys, socks, training kit and misplaced mouthguards. Prop Theresa is already through to the...

U13 Junior Grand Final

U13s Finals Victory- A message from the Coach By Ross Bloomfield Easts U13 Gold entered the grand Final, not having beaten GPS all season. Coming off a strong defensive win against Norths the week before, Gold knew that they were going to have to up the ante for the Final. GPS started strongly with an...

Junior Finals Team List

Junior Finals Announcement This Sunday we have our U13 Gold boys competing in their Grand Final against GPS. We invite everyone down to cheer on the boys, 8:30am at Albany Creek. Best of luck boys! Team List Jackson Reading Tyran Shandil Ryan Smith Louis Boyd Oliver Thomson Mackenzy Elms Kobe Segeant Harvey Bishop Charlie Olivotto...

Finals Time: Lower Grades…The Engine Room of Tigerland

Finals Time: Lower Grades...The Engine Room of Tigerland Search the rugby dictionary for the term “club stalwart” and you find names like Easts’ fifth grade halfback Mitch Gunning.  No prime-time 3pm kick-offs for him. He hasn’t played a match in that slot since school days at Villanova College in 2009.  On Sunday morning, he’ll be...

Junior Raffle Winners Announced

Junior Raffle Winners Thank you to everyone who contributed to the Easts Rugby Union Junior Raffle this year. A big congratulations to the following prize winners for 2022: 1st prize: Fiji Escape - Samwell Carbonne-Mara 2nd prize: Stradbroke Getaway - Tamara Davies 3rd prize: Mytronics E10 Pool Cleaner- Brendan Hannan 4th prize: Rebel Sport voucher...

The 2008 Easts Premiers…A Special Vintage Well Aged At Fullback

The 2008 premiership was only the start of the party that put Easts on top of Australian rugby for the first time. Skipper Jade Ingham and his men celebrated long and loud after the 22-21 victory over Brothers to end a 19-year drought without the Hospital Cup. One of the spin-offs was entry into the...